Unevenly Balanced

Last night was a rather amusing evening in our little cave. Mainly because I tried out a new yoga app for the first time.

I like to think of myself as being active(ish), I do like getting out of the house and going for walks in the park. I take a couple of dance classes once a week but there is a real lack of facilities in my local area. Therefore, I had an idea. I downloaded a yoga app.

To be honest the app itself looks awesome, but I have very little in the way of balance which can lead to some rather hilarious wobbles. I do have a yoga set I bought for gym sessions I was going to before I moved house so I rolled out my mat, plugged my headphones into my phone and set to it. I only did a 15 minute session and I did really enjoy it but I made two terrible mistakes.

1: I was using my proper yoga mat and had cleared space in the room, however there was one thing I had neglected to consider… I had rolled my mat out on top of our lovely deep-pile rug which, as it happens, does not provide anything by the way of a firm footing. This combined with my naturally poor balance created a rather wobbly issue.

Which brings me on to mistake number two.

2: Not only had a decided to practice my yoga on an uneven surface, but also in-front of my husband who was , rather predictably, amused by my wobbly and quivering stances. Oh, he did his best to keep a straight face, but have you ever caught the loon on someones face out of the corner of your eye when they are desperately trying not to laugh. This led to me trying to stifle a fit of giggles too and yes, I did end up in a tangled heap in the floor!

However, I really did enjoy it! Next time though, I really must remember to never practice yoga on an uneven surface!

A (loosly connected) response to The Daily Post prompt: Uneven

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

