What A Difference A Year Makes

This time last year I had very little concept of the effort it takes to design an invitation, let alone everything else that goes into planning a major event. This time last year I was gearing up for a trip away for the weekend with my boyfriend to celebrate the one year anniversary of us moving in together.

We were going on a short UK city break, just to do a bit of shopping, hit some clubs and just generally be away from the daily grind for a few days. Little did I know that this trip was ll a very cleverly constructed LIE, and also that I am quite possibly the most gullible woman on the planet.

I didn’t even cotton on the fact that something was afoot when he started weighing suitcases like a madman the night before we went away.

Anywho, long story short, that UK city break turned into a 3 day trip to Paris where said boyfriend got down on one knee under the Eiffel tower and asked me to marry him! Naturally I said yes, but even then I couldn’t anticipate how much of my soul would have to be poured into an even that is supposed to be about us and our love.

Which brings me on to the topic of this post. The invitations. In an attempt to keep costs down I decided to make all of the invitations and order of service booklets myself. This meant hours sat at my computer, editing images, adjusting sizes of pictures pixel by pixel. Printing a run off and then finding a spelling mistake, deciding to make a colour change, miscalculating how many invitations we would need to send out …

This stage of the wedding planning process was very stressful and ended up taking a lot longer than I ever could have anticipated.

So. If you are planning a wedding anytime soon and you look at the price of personalized invitations online, trust me, there is a reason for that price. Based on the amount of blood, sweat and the many many MANY tears that I shed in the invitation-making process, others would be going through the same things too.

Having said that, I am so very glad that we made our own invitations as this allowed us to put another aspect of ourselves into that day, and I wouldn’t change any little thing about it.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

